Fortnite wins Game of the Year 2018
The annual Golden Joystick Awards gave out their annual awards this past Friday. None other than Fortnite took home the honors of being crowned the Game of the Year for 2018. Fortnite managed to beat out the competition in a year that included God of War and Red Dead Redemption 2 as part of the nominations.

Ignoring the seemingly insignificant detail that Fortnite came out in 2017, the fact remains that the Golden Joystick Award winners are voted on by people like you and me. There's no committee that votes on the winners. The winners are selected by the general public, and the fact is there is a HUGE number of people playing Fortnite on everything from PCs to consoles to even mobile phones. It's clear that the people "for" Fortnite far outnumber those that are against it, despite what forum comments would lead you to believe.

Yes, there are plenty of "gamers" throwing a bit of a hissy fit over Fortnite winning. And by "a bit" I mean they're having a full blown kicking and screaming tantrum. If you are one of those people and you did not even bother to cast a vote: You can kindly shut up.

The other big winners this year include Subnautica for the PC GOTY, God of War for the PlayStation GOTY, and Forza Horizon 4 for the Xbox GOTY. Let's just take a look at the full list of winners for this year.

  • Best Storytelling: God of War
  • Studio of the Year: Sony Santa Monica
  • Best New Streamer/Broadcaster: Amelia Rose Blaire and Bryan Dechart
  • Mobile Game of the Year: Playerunknown's Battlegrounds
  • Best Competitive Game: Fortnite
  • PC Game of the Year: Subnautica
  • PlayStation Game of the Year: God of War
  • Best Co-op Game: Monster Hunter World
  • Xbox Game of the Year: Forza Horizon 4
  • Best Visual Design: God of War
  • Nintendo Game of the Year: Octopath Traveler
  • Best Indie Game: Dead Cells
  • Breakthrough Award: Unknown Worlds (Subnautica)
  • Most Wanted Game: Cyberpunk 2077
  • Critics Choice Award: Red Dead Redemption 2
  • Best Audio: God of War
  • Still Playing Award: World of Tanks
  • Best Performer: Bryan Dechart (Detroit: Become Human)
  • Outstanding Contribution: Microsoft (Xbox Adaptive Controller)
  • Best VR Game: Skyrim VR
  • Ultimate Game of the Year: Fortnite
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Hidetaka Miyazaki (Souls series, Bloodborne)