Goodbye Seasons, hello Episodes.
Art showing space Guardians posing. Destiny 2: The Final Shape.

The latest Destiny 2 Showcase stream had Bungie finally sharing a bunch of details for the upcoming expansion, Destiny 2: The Final Shape. First off, we know now that The Final Shape will be out on February 27, 2024.

Bungie says that this will be "the final expansion in Destiny 2's 'Light and Darkness Saga'." It also marks the beginning of Bungie's shift from 4 Seasons per year to 3 Episodes per year for Destiny 2. They say that even though there will be one less Episode compared to Season, there will be more fully realized content released in each Episode. The first of these Episodes, Echoes, will launch in March, or shortly after the release of Destiny 2: The Final Shape.

Click image for larger version  Name:	2023_Final_Shape_Reveal_PressKit_The_Pale_Heart_Compressed_007.webp Views:	0 Size:	49.7 KB ID:	3526031Click image for larger version  Name:	2023_Final_Shape_Reveal_PressKit_The_Pale_Heart_Compressed_005.webp Views:	0 Size:	47.7 KB ID:	3526032Click image for larger version  Name:	2023_Final_Shape_Reveal_PressKit_Supers_Compressed_001.webp Views:	0 Size:	168.4 KB ID:	3526033Click image for larger version  Name:	2023_Final_Shape_Reveal_PressKit_Supers_Compressed_002.webp Views:	0 Size:	144.7 KB ID:	3526034Click image for larger version  Name:	2023_Final_Shape_Reveal_PressKit_The_Pale_Heart_Compressed_009.webp Views:	0 Size:	82.7 KB ID:	3526035Click image for larger version  Name:	2023_Final_Shape_Reveal_PressKit_Supers_Compressed_003.webp Views:	0 Size:	181.9 KB ID:	3526036Click image for larger version  Name:	2023_Final_Shape_Reveal_PressKit_The_Pale_Heart_Compressed_031.webp Views:	0 Size:	159.4 KB ID:	3526037Click image for larger version  Name:	2023_Final_Shape_Reveal_PressKit_The_Pale_Heart_Large_046.webp Views:	0 Size:	58.2 KB ID:	3526038Click image for larger version  Name:	2023_Final_Shape_Reveal_PressKit_The_Pale_Heart_Compressed_020.webp Views:	0 Size:	287.2 KB ID:	3526039Click image for larger version  Name:	2023_Final_Shape_Reveal_PressKit_The_Pale_Heart_Large_044.webp Views:	0 Size:	239.6 KB ID:	3526040

In Destiny 2: The Final Shape, Guardians will confront oblivion in the form of their ultimate adversary –The Witness – alongside their iconic Vanguard companions: Ikora Rey, Commander Zavala, and the mysteriously returned Cayde-6. Players will embark on a perilous journey of remembrance and discovery into the heart of the Traveler, rally the Vanguard, and end the War of Light and Darkness. The story of this final confrontation will be told throughout the course of The Final Shape’s campaign, as well as in the new raid that will launch in March 2024.
The new raid will also see a return of the World First Race, as is tradition.

Throughout The Final Shape, players will explore The Pale Heart, a location set inside the Traveler. The Pale Heart is an area that has been shaped by The Witness, but also "influenced by the history and journey of the Guardians themselves." That is to say, there will be several "nostalgic callbacks from throughout the history of the Light and Darkness Saga, including a version of the original Tower from Destiny. As the first linear destination in Destiny history, The Pale Heart will also gradually evolve."

The Final Shape will also offer three new Super abilities and Aspects: Void for Titans, Solar for Warlocks, and Arc for Hunters. There will also be a new weapon subfamily that includes a Rocket Pistol Sidearm and new Support Frame Auto Rifle that can deal damage and heal allies. Several weapons from the original Destiny will also return.

Subjugators will be a new enemy type in this expansion. They can use both Stasis and Strand again Guardians. An improved Power system is coming that will temporarily boost lower power players up to the highest power teammate to tackle challenging content. A Fireteam Finder feature is coming as well (in November 2023) that will serve as an in-game looking for group (LFG). There will be a new PvP map called Multiplex, a new Relic-based game mode, and a new Checkmate modifier.

As for those Episodes, here is what Bungie had to say about them:

As part of the Showcase, Bungie detailed its new Episodes content format for Destiny 2, which will begin in March 2024 shortly after the launch of The Final Shape. Replacing the current seasonal model, Episodes represent an entirely new approach to storytelling and content. There will be three separate Episodes in 2024 – titled Echoes, Revenant, and Heresy respectively – with the first Episode launching in March. Each Episode will be a standalone story told in three Acts, exploring the aftermath and fallout of the events of the conclusion of the Light and Darkness saga, while also introducing more content and rewards, more often than previous Destiny 2 Seasons.
Pre-orders are live now for Destiny 2: The Final Shape.

Out today for Destiny 2 fans is the start of Season of the Witch.

In Season of the Witch, Guardians will continue their ongoing pursuit of The Witness, and will confront old allies and enemies along the way. Savathûn’s ghost Immaru proposes a deal: aid in the resurrection of The Witch Queen and help defeat her sister, Xivu Arath. In exchange, Savathûn will reveal the key to the portal through the Traveler where The Witness is preparing to enact The Final Shape. Guardians will harness arcane Hive magic as they help their ally Eris Morn prepare for the showdown against the Hive god of war by transforming into a Hive god herself.

Key to Season of the Witch is the new Deck of Whispers, a new method of player progression that allows Guardians to customize their loadouts and powers in new ways. By completing Seasonal activities, players earn cards that can be used to build a customized deck full of buffs and perks for certain activities. Players in fireteams have the option to carefully strategize which cards they bring along to maximize their battle effectiveness on each run.

Time To Reflect
Alongside the adventure and action in Season of the Witch, the Destiny 2 development team is launching several new quality-of-life features to the game, designed to improve the experience of Guardians across the game. Among these key features is Timeline Reflections. These short playable missions, accessible through the Timeline feature in the Director, offer brief narrative introductions and summaries of key narrative events from Destiny 2 and are intended to help new players catch up with the ongoing story and to allow experienced players to relive and enjoy moments from the past.

With the launch of Season of the Witch, three Timeline Reflections missions are available, including Cayde-6’s final showdown with the Scorn from Destiny 2: Forsaken, the debut of Stasis from Destiny 2: Beyond Light, and the introduction of the Lucent Hive from Destiny 2: The Witch Queen. These missions are available to all players at no additional charge.

Reprised Raid: Crota’s End
Season of the Witch will also bring with it a reprised raid from Destiny’s past: Crota’s End. Originally released shortly after the launch of the original Destiny in 2014, Crota’s End finds Guardians braving the Lunar landscape to enter the Hellmouth and confront Oryx’s son once and for all.​
Crota's End will launch on September 1. And just like with every other raid, there will again be a World First Race. The Season of the Witch will conclude on November 28th.

Finally, there is a trial weekend from August 24-27.