Spencer will receive recognition for his work at Microsoft and Xbox.
Click image for larger version

Name:	Phil Spencer.jpg
Views:	656
Size:	56.8 KB
ID:	3515739

Phil Spencer, CEO of Microsoft Gaming and the head of Xbox, will receive the AIAS Lifetime Achievement Award at the 25th Annual DICE Awards. This announcement came a short time ago today from the Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences.

This annual awards show will take place on February 24 in Las Vegas, Nevada. None other than Bethesda's Todd Howard will present Spencer with the 2022 Lifetime Achievement Award. And you know what? It's about time that Spencer was given this honor.

Spencer has been in the game industry for over 30 years now. He first joined Microsoft in 1988 as a lowly intern and has stuck with them ever since. He took over leading the Xbox division around the launch of the Xbox One S. He is responsible for overseeing the development and release of several key products and services such as the Xbox Series X|S, Xbox Game Pass, the Xbox Adaptive Controller, and Xbox Cloud Gaming.

Spencer was also at the helm as Xbox Game Studios saw massive expansion. These include the acquisitions of studios such as Mojang, Ninja Theory, Obsidian Entertainment, PlayGround Games, Double Fine Productions, ZeniMax Media, along with the potential Activision Blizzard acquisition.

He is also responsible for making a big push for PC gaming with the addition of PC Game Pass along with the release of Microsoft titles through Steam.

“Phil Spencer has demonstrated both passion and leadership throughout his entire career at Microsoft. He’s responsible for countless impactful and pivotal initiatives that have reverberated throughout the entire gaming industry,” said Meggan Scavio, President of the AIAS. “On behalf of the Academy’s Board of Directors, we are looking forward to celebrating Spencer’s important impact on video game history by presenting him with our Lifetime Achievement Award.”

The AIAS Lifetime Achievement Award is reserved for individuals whose accomplishments span a broad range of disciplines over a lengthy career in the industry. Recipients are typically individuals distinguished for their business leadership and are not necessarily involved in development or the creative process. Through their leadership and ideology, these individuals have driven significant and positive change across the industry.
Previous winners of the award include Nintendo's Satoru Iwata and PlayStation's Ken Kutaragi to name a couple.