An alpha test is also slated to begin this weekend.
Click image for larger version

Name:	VGD_ALPHA-005.jpg
Views:	875
Size:	195.1 KB
ID:	3512749

Last week, Activision officially revealed 2021's Call of Duty release. It's called Call of Duty: Vanguard and it takes place in an alternate history WWII setting. An alpha test for the game's multiplayer is scheduled to begin on August 27 and run through to August 29, but this is exclusive to PlayStation consoles.

This alpha will feature the new Champion Hill multiplayer mode, seen in the trailer below. This mode is "a tournament style, multi-map and multi-life game mode" that will see teams of either two or three players going against each other in a round-robin style battle royale. Players begin with the same loadouts, but cash earned through pickups or kills will allow players to upgrade weapons or just purchase new gear completely. Perks and Killstreaks are also able to be purchased. These gear upgrades will happen during Buy Rounds that take place between Combat Rounds.

Though they say it's "multi-map" it seems as though the whole thing will take place on a single map that is divided into four sections: Airstrip, Trainyard, Market, and Courtyard. The Buy Station will be situated in the center and is also the place where knocked out combatants can watch the rest of the action unfold.

A beta will then follow the alpha and will run from September 10-13 for those that pre-ordered the game. This will also be exclusive to PlayStation consoles. The weekend after that is when the beta will be available to players on other platforms.

Those that pre-ordered Call of Duty: Vanguard on any platform will be able to try out the beta starting on September 16. Those who did not pre-order the game can hop into the beta starting September 18. The beta will then end on September 20. You will need a account in order to participate.

Call of Duty: Vanguard will be released on November 5, 2021. It is being published by Activision, whom seems to be extra keen on hiding their name from this year's release, but I can't imagine why...