I cannot even wrap my mind around how something of this magnitude happens. But apparently, if you pre-loaded the Fallout 76 beta, you run the very real risk of having your entire pre-load be deleted if you touch literally any button on the game client.
According to Variety, Bethesda noticed login issues that were affecting the BethesdaNet client. Bethesda Support issued a warning not to touch any button on the client. Those who never saw the warning or chose to ignore...