Why is Camp Gibraltar so popular?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why is Camp Gibraltar so popular?

Hey there. I'm not a big forum guy, here or anywhere, and I only started playing 2142 in August after buying it way back when and it not performing well on my computer. I play only for fun (which means I wonder a lot of the time why I play at all), and I'm only a Warrant Officer Silver. But I did play BF2 for a few years and I'm familiar with the franchise.

Question: Why the hell is Camp Gibraltar such a popular map?

It's easily on over half the servers anytime I play online. It's unavoidable. I know it's a desert map but the colors are so harsh my eyes hurt after more than two rounds. There's not enough room to seriously run vehicles around, and the map is too big on foot. There's too many hiding places and it comes down to a few camping a-holes sniping people running from the only spawn point they have. They could release JUST THAT MAP and have a spinoff game called "Battlefield: Running." The 45-man showdowns in those cramped passageways toward the EU base are basically just 100 free kills for the guy with the alienware laptop and the 18ms ping. The map would be tolerable if it came up once in awhile in rotation, but seriously, what is the deal with this map? The only think I can think of is it's a camper's paradise, especially the one flag out in the open surrounded by buildings, and it's the jerks who usually own the trends in things like this.

I've had some great rounds in 2142, but usually on the maps that don't get played too often - Verdun especially, and Minsk. Suez is also a lot of fun unless your team is so insipid that they can't keep gunships off the roof in the PAC base. And since I haven't played for a long time, I'm not good in the Titan yet, so trying to find a Conquest server that doesn't have Gibraltar in heavy rotation is becoming kind of a task.

Am I crazy?

Re: Why is Camp Gibraltar so popular?