I had the Invulnerability Bug

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I had the Invulnerability Bug

Just got off a server, where I had the invulnerability bug for the very first time in 550+ hours of BF2 time.

It was on an IO server, just about full. Round started (Jalalabad). I was USMC but I wanted to be MEC, so I clicked on MEC and spawned in.

I look around, and all the MEC are red to me. I figure I've got the red bug.

They turn around and start shooting at me. But this is where it gets strange... I couldn't be hurt!

They shot and shot and nothing happened. So I started shooting back. And I killed them, and it showed up as legit kills, not TKs.

It was strange. At first, it was fun and funny, to be in the middle of all these guys jumping around, throwing nades at me, even trying to C4 me, while I was pistoling and RPKing them.

But it also felt very bad. I told everyone (J) that I had the invulnerability bug, but nobody cared. I started a squad called WTF, to flag the situation, but again, nobody cared or chatted or anything.

So I'd just wade into a group of MEC and hose them all down. Got to 31 and 0, but it felt TERRIBLE. At first it was funny, but then it became very un-fun, because I thought of how angry I'd be if it was happening to me.

I ran over to the USMC side, and they didn't shoot me. So I ran back into the middle of the battle, and I got killed by a USMC grenade. After that, I spawned like normal, and died like normal, but still I left the server right away because I felt like such a low-life for shooting the MEC while invulnerable.

So, the moral to this story? Unless it's straight-up competition, it's no fun. An unfair advantage in the game takes away the fun of the person with the advantage.

You might call me a loser for thinking this way, but I hope that I never get the Invulnerability Bug again. It's too tempting to exploit the situation, and there's too much guilt if you do.