The first steps to revive the PlayStation Network have started up with the release of the 3.61 firmware update just moments ago. The update is mandatory and will force all PSN users to change their password upon completion of the update.
This is the first step to reviving the slumbering PlayStation Network.
If using a PS3, your password can only be changed on your own PS3 (or a PS3 on which your PSN account was activated), as an added layer of security. If you have never downloaded any content using your account on the system, an email will be sent to the registered sign-in ID (email address) associated with your account when you first attempt to sign-in to PSN. This e-mail will contain a link that will enable you to change your password. In this email, click on the link and follow the instructions to change your password. Once you have changed your password you can sign-in to your account using your new password.
This is the first step to reviving the slumbering PlayStation Network.