BF2 doesnt open, 99% cpu usage

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• BF2 doesnt open, 99% cpu usage

When I open BF2 it shows the BF2 splash screen for about a second then it closes but the whole computer lags out. If you open up the task manager then you can see that it is actually using 99% cpu usage. There is no errors in the event viewer. Help?

Specs:
    DFI NF4 Ultra-D
    Opteron 146
    MSI 7800GTX
    OCZ El Platinum Rev 2 (2x512)
    Windows XP

It's not overclocked either at the moment, I don't know what the cause of this could be..every other game works fine.

Re: BF2 doesnt open, 99% cpu usage

I'm not an expert here but what company is the MSI 7800 GTX? I'm curious because it's not on the list of supported graphics cards:

ATI Radeon X700 (PCIe), X600 (PCIe), X800 XT Platinum Edition, X800 PRO, and X300 series.
    ATI Radeon 9800 series, 9700 series, 9600 series, 9559 (RV350LX), 9500 series, and 8500 series.
    NVIDIA GeForce 6600 (PCIe), and PCX 5900 (PCIe).
    NVIDIA GeForce 5800 series (AGP).
    NVIDIA GeForce 6800 Ultra, 6800 GT, and 6800.
    NVIDIA GeForce FX 5950 series, FX 5900 series, and FX 5700 series.

Comment

The company is MSI...why wouldnt the 7800 series be supported, they have been out for a while now.

Comment

Well that's the list I got from EA, sorry.

Comment

the 7800 is definitly support LOL. well first off, the CPU usage for Bf2 is usually over 90% in-game. it doesnt sound like you were actually playing, but who knows. I would say reinstall is my best guesss...

Comment

It's a fresh install on a fresh copy of windows...

Comment

Yeah that would work, reinstalling windows

Comment

No, I already did that.

I did find the solution though, apparently my old backup profiles were causing the issue (my documents>battlefield 2), once I deleted them the problem went away. Thank god..

Comment

Originally posted by Sir. Xlano
                  Yeah that would work, reinstalling windows