Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• BF2 unexpectedly crashes----new thing

Greetings all-

I have been playing BF2 for a couple of months now, and no complaints regarding preformance. Last night (and today), it crashes like crazy when I either try and place myself on a map, or when the server is starting to load. And when it crashes, it completely restarts the whole computer.

Here is my machine:

Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional (5.0, Build 2195) Service Pack 4
    Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
    Processor: AMD Sempron(TM) 2500+, MMX, 3DNow
    Memory: 1280MB RAM
    Page File: 284MB used, 1614MB available
    DirectX Version: 4.09.00.0904
    DxDiag Version: 5.00.2134.0001

GEForce 5700LE
    C-Media PCI sound card.
    I am on DSL.

Everything has the latest drivers, etc.

After it started to crash, I un-installed BF2 and reinstalled with the updates, re-installed the latest Directx, and scanned for viruses/spyware.

Lastly, the machine runs BF1942 just fine.

Any ideas?

Thanks-

Re: BF2 unexpectedly crashes----new thing

Have a look here:

http://www.totalbf2.com/forums/showthread.php?t=53585

and/or here:

http://www.totalbf2.com/forums/showthread.php?t=53688

Looks like that it is a problem with the latest (automatic) PunkBuster update and Win2k.

Maybe it's your problem too. :hmm:

Comment

Holy ****, me too.

THIS IS SO ****ING ANNOYING.

Comment

You need to upgrade to 2gig of ram, you need at least 2gig of ram to play this game, bf2+sf is a memory, system resources hungry game!

Comment

Originally posted by markus1012
          You need to upgrade to 2gig of ram, you need at least 2gig of ram to play this game, bf2+sf is a memory, system resources hungry game!
          Man, I hate those posts to every issue with upgrade memory/cpu...when the OP's issue is obviously something else.

Comment

Originally posted by markus1012