Low FPS with x800 ati pro

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Low FPS with x800 ati pro

I've been trying to fix this problem since I've had this game. Ive ran virus scans, spyware scans, system optimizers, defrag, newest drivers (BIOS, sound, video).... the works. Ive tried overclocking, and setting all settings to low. No matter what I do, I maintain a FPS around 10-20. I have the same problem with Battlefeild Veitnam. Does anyone have any advice... or suggestions? Thanks. All help is appreciated.

P4 2.66, 533mhz FSB, Intel chipset
    1 GB o' Ram PC2700
    ATI x800 Pro
    Soundblaster Audigy 2
    Atleast 30 Gigs of HD free

Re: Low FPS with x800 ati pro

i'm no expert, but if your fps sucks even after you've done all you've done, if i were you, i'd reformat and reinstall. even on low, you should be able to play with no problems with your pc specs.

Comment

As I said in the other thread about FPS. It's all about the ram, get 1 gig more.

It's crucial for BF2.

Comment

yup 2G owns

Comment

Yeah, but ram is not the root of his problems...try turning down your DIMM timings in your bios mabye?

Comment

Thanks, I'll try both of those.

Comment

Set your sound settings to low as well.

Comment

Originally posted by theguy
                Set your sound settings to low as well.
                Yeah, and make sure that the EAX stuff is disabled.

Comment

Your problem is not the X800 it's the P4. 533FSB with single channel memory most likely. Not an optimal gaming rig. Look for chipset drivers at Intel's site. Check that AGP aperture is set to 256MB in the BIOS. Run sound on hardware setting and medium quality with EAX enabled. Turn off VOIP. Run graphic quality on all medium except view distance 100% and texture filtering on high. Moderate overclocking should also help.