Any reason I can't max out settings?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Any reason I can't max out settings?

I've tried maxing out my settings, and can actually only go up to 1280x960 in the game, I guess limited by my monitor. Nonetheless, turning everything up to high and AA to 6x, I still get some stuttering.

Maybe I'm just expecting too much out of my system, but I thought it should be able to handle the game maxed out with no stuttering. I just upgraded the graphics card from the 9800 pro and added another gig of ram so my current specs are in my sig. Any ideas on what could be causing the stuttering? Processor not fast enough? Any settings that do no good that I should just turn off? I see a lot of people using no AA and have also heard some things about the lighting effects. I just turned the AGP aperture from 128 to 256, and that seemed to boost the FPS a little bit, but still noticed some stuttering. Maybe it also has to do with the fact that I'm a pilot. Could it have something to do with everything just moving too fast to handle?

I have a similar rig to yours. I think it's just not optimized for ATI people yet. Remember how poorly Battlefield Vietnam ran when it first came out? It took several patches and new ATI drivers to get it running smoothly. I'm guessing with a few more patches this game will be running the way it should on higher end systems. And people who say that 3Ghz and below isn't high end, they're retarded so don't listen to them.

Comment

Increasing your AGP Aperture size to huge amounts doesn't actually boost performance. It only increases the amount of memory addresses available to your card. 128MB is a good AGP aperture size for almost every card, 256MB isn't necessary.