Two total noob questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Two total noob questions

all right, this is actually a bf2 post but the 'totalbf2' forum is taking forever to send me my activation email and I don't want to wait anymore...

I'm new to PC gaming. My friend just helped me build my PC and I've finally got everything up and running. I installed BF2 and was able to open it just fine. For some reason when I open the 'multiplayer' tab I get no servers at all showing up in the server list. I did online registration if that makes a difference, still nothing? Something I'm missing here? I'm sure its something really obvious but...

So I thought I'd try singleplayer just to finally see my comp in action. It gets through the whole load of the map just fine but as soon as it gets to 'loading client data' or whatever that says, it just crashes to my desktop.

I'm a total novice and I'm really lost here...

any thoughts?

i know that servers not appearing probably has something to do with you not having updated to the latest version. not sure what that is for bf2, but that should be your first move. then you should make sure that your punkbuster is up to date, if you are playing on non-cheat servers. finally regarding servers not appearing, it is often something to do with selecting a broader array of filters, ie don't restrict your search too much or it won't give u any love

sorry can't be of more help, good luck!

Comment

^^^^what he said

check that you have the latest patch installed and imho the only server filter you should check is "ranked"

as for the ctd, well, welcome to the wonderful world of DICE games.

Comment

Thanks man, I'll give that a shot

How do I check to for updates?

Comment

1.41 is the one you want.

Comment

Update: the crash problem def appears to be related to my sound setup. I was hopin I would be able to run the sound through my external firewire interface but BF appears to not like that.