BF3 Freezes and Requires Hard Boot

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• BF3 Freezes and Requires Hard Boot

Alright, I have had it, I give up. I have been working with PCs for maybe 20 years now. Its also my job (software architect), and I have seen so many weird hardware/software issues in my life, but this is really beyond me.

Problem : BF3 freezes with a looping sound and either gives a black screen which you can CTRL + ALT + DEL and go to task manager and kill bf3.exe or simply requires a hard boot (this is the case %90 of the time, I don't always get lucky)

System Specs:

CPU : Q6600 OC@3.6 Ghz - CPU runs cool under 60C, have been using thermalright ultra extreme 120 with arctic silver 5 for several years now. I can run Prime95, stress test, for hours without any issues.
    RAM : Crucial Ballistix 4 GB DDR2 800 Mhz 4-4-4-12
    Motherboard : ABIT IP-35 Pro
    PSU : PC Power & Cooling 750W, 825W Peak
    GPU : EVGA GTX 280
    HDD : Velociraptor 300 GB
    Monitor : Samsung 26"
    Case : Antec 1200
    Sound Card : HTO Striker 7.1

Attempted Resolutions :

1) Uninstalled/Reinstalled PunkBuster
    2) Uninstalled/Reinstalled BF3 and all patches
    3) Uninstalled/Reinstalled video card driver
    4) Uninstalled/Reinstalled sound card driver
    5) Disabled onboard audio completely
    6) Turned off HIFI sound in game
    7) Turned off all video settings including AA and AF with post in game
    8) Changed RAM timings between 4-4-4-12 and 5-5-5-15 by adjusting the frequency between 800 and 1000
    9) Completely turned off all overclocking in CPU
    10) Maxed out the GTX 280's fan (though the temperatures never even exceeded 70C with 30% fan - used riva tuner to verify this)