Couple of Game Mechanics Questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Couple of Game Mechanics Questions

I'm a three year vet of 2142 and have been playing BC2 for a few weeks now and have a few questions about its game mechanics, the answers to which I haven't been able to figure out on my own. Sorry for this super long thread, btw, but I figure its better to create one annoying thread than six.

1. Can a jumping player take damage while in mid-air? (in 2142 they could not)

2. Hardcore Crosshairs: I prefer Hardcore mode but find the lack of usable ironsights on the stationary HMGs, light-vehicle MGs, watercraft MGs, and helicopter gattling guns, and tank side-guns to make them more or less useless as they are impossible to aim. Is this the way its meant to be, or am I missing somehting?

3. Is AA really completely broken and un-fixable like I've been reading about in various forums? (soldiers, vehicles, and weapons are AA'd but buildings, fauna, and other background are not). Dunno about you guys and gals, but to me the backgrounds look like blocky mush, which adversely affects my gameplay. :hmm:

4. Is there a minimum range that 40mm grenade launchers will work? (in 2142 it was 20m or something like that for the PK rockets)

5. What exactly are Avenger Kills, Savior Kills, etc. Or is there documentation somewhere for what the various awards are?

6. Teamwork: is it me or does nobody play as a team in BC2? One of my favorite things about 2142 was the teamwork, even on pub servers. People not only joined squads but played in squads, used mics, and coordinated. Are there any Hardcore BC2 servers that pimp this style of gameplay? :salute:

Thanks!

Re: Couple of Game Mechanics Questions

1.- yes, and it's hilarious.

2.- It's by design. Namely, a design overlook; all emplaced guns are pretty much useless in HC mode.

3.- AA like in antialiasing? I can't enable it, so I can't tell.

4.- yes, 5 meters, everything beyond that is fair game.