Starting a new server. Your thoughts.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Starting a new server. Your thoughts.

Ok. Finally decided to take the plunge and start my own BF2142 server. This will hopefully migrate into new BF2142 or Heroes 2 server(s).

I guess every server owner has aspirations of theirs being succesful but I am hoping the experience I built up at Timeless and the reputation Timeless had at the time will be an assett to getting a good rep for the new server.

I would like your thoughts though. I would rather have a Conquest server to start but don't just want to do Gib. I thought a 3 or 4 map rotation would be good. What about server numbers though. I keep reading that experienced players prefer 48 rather than 64 servers. But this also effects the maps as some are better than others depending on the number of players.

I am NOT a fan of Full ff off. OK I hate it. But as I was an admin for someone who liked it I had to defend it But I also don't like the arguments and bitter team politics with FF On. Would setting FF Off to 70-80 percent be ok? This would stop the rdx spammers and using rdx to get to high places.

What about baserape. I am a fan that players should be able to spawn and get prepared before entering combat. The issues are that most players now understand where players spawn and spam grenades or pk's into these areas on maps like Gib. Plus the server empties and dies late at night if base rapers take over the base and just dominate the issue.

Apart from commander should support their troops, ( a guideline, an admin can kick if it's seriously effecting gameplay) and the usual no glitching or pod surfing or padding, I was going to leave the rules as that. Clean and simple.