Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Enemy at my 6 o'clock, Am I completely In his Mercy?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Enemy at my 6 o'clock, Am I completely In his Mercy?

Hey All,

This question is for all those gunship pilots or top gunship pilots out there.

When someone get on your tail and has spotted and chasing you, are you completely in his/her hands?

I am new to BF 2142 from BF 2 and I remember the J10 mauvering I use to do that shake enemy aircraft off my tail all the time. However, It seems that my old skills from BF 2 isn't working that well in BF 2142. I know how to solo pilot from both BF. My K ratio on BF 2142 gunship is usually around 3:1. In a round I usually earn around 60-85 points including awards.

Situation: Enemy gunship caught me on my tail, he/she fire a salvo of missiles at me. I pull shield just in time and begin to run while gaining some airspeed. I strafe and shift across his 2 or 10 o'clock and pull up to gain some altitude. I do some Cobra/ Immelman manuver to get my head facing him. But at that time, my gunship has already taken considerable amount of damage and is unable to outgun him unless I use a TV missile.

That only works 40% of the time as the server I play in have some great pilots.

So I am looking forward to advice from other BF2142 veteran pilots how they dogfight and if they are completely in the hands of the enemy if they get on their 6.

I use a mouse and keyboard and I would say my skills are above average.

Thanks again.

Amaranthen

Re: Enemy at my 6 o'clock, Am I completely In his Mercy?

Two words: Fly Backwards. Not fly in reverse, not turn around... Flip your gunship nose up and fly backwards. Its hard, its hard to know what I mean without seeing it but it works.

Add me in game (name is "Mr.Kaizer") and I'll hop on an empty server and show you

EDIT: Actually, adding me to Xfire would be more effective... My XFire is "nodfingulfin"

Comment