Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to Not be A Freakin' Noob

I am a Noob.

There's nothing wrong with being a Noob. Well, ok, there is, but it's like being kissing cousins as opposed to married cousins with kids: redemption is still an option. If you, like me, have the hardest time putting bullets on bad guys and have the phrase "Time to Spawn:" burned into your monitor, don't give up the ghost yet: there is still hope. You can still have fun as a Noob and, with a little effort and focus, you can also avoid making everyone else around you completely miserable. Although it will still take practice, here are a few keys to becoming a better Noob that are well within even the most Noobish Noob's capability and that don't take 18 hours a day for months to master.

The Dos and Don'ts of Being a Good Noob:

DO Practice, Practice, Practice ... By Yourself
    Playing BF2 single-player is like masturbating: it's nothing to be ashamed of, but nothing to be proud of, either. Everyone does it and pretends they don't. Don't listen to all the bad hype out there, there's some real value in playing BF2 single-player, especially as a Noob. Some of the real basics that most of the Freakin' Noobs out there haven't grasped yet are best learned in single-player: How do you set and then detonate C4? How do you drop bags of health? What's that flagpole mean? Where's the Quad damage power-up? The intense fast-action multi-player arena is simply not the place to try to figure out these kinds of questions. Spend LOTS of time on single-player, push all the buttons, shoot all the weapons, jump off all the ledges, crash into all the crates. You will see some improvement and may even end up kicking butt on single-player. While this ego boost is a good thing, PLEASE, whatever you do, don't brag to anyone else that you rock on single-player. Spanking an AI soldier is nowhere near the same thing as a human-controlled soldier and everyone but you knows it.