Geforce 7800 GS AGP

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Geforce 7800 GS AGP

Hi all, I am running a ATI 9800 PRO at the moment and wanting to upgrade to a Geforce 7800 GS AGP. I know that doing a whole system upgrade would be the better thing to do going with the PCI version, however I am under money constraints.

Here is my question though do I have enough CPU and ram to run this newer AGP card? My system specs are as follows........

P4 2.53 Ghz Cpu on a
    Gigabit GA-8stxcfs mainboard,
    and running 2.5 gig ram at 333 mhz.
    500 watt power supply

Re: Geforce 7800 GS AGP

ram is fine not too sure about CPU tho shouldnt be a problem, im no expert on ATI but i thought the 9800 PRO was an ok card ... if ya want my advice save up your penny's and rebuild a whole system insteed of putting money into basicaly dead technology

Comment

If i were you i WOULD NOT buy an AGP (is it x4 or x8?)
      PCI-E or x16 Slots are so d@m powerful you'd get way better preformance going with those slots.

Comment

hi timewarp, seems i am the only one thus far who has read what you put about not wanting to upgrade to pci for money or other reasons, i hear you.

i have the xfx 7800 gs card and it is 8x agp to answer one of the repliers.

your specs should be fine, as long as your power supply isnt too weedy.

HTH

Comment

Originally posted by UltrAdamSki
          hi timewarp, seems i am the only one thus far who has read what you put about not wanting to upgrade to pci for money or other reasons, i hear you.

HTH
          I am running a 500 watt-er at the moment... I hope that is enough... Thanks for the information and friendly convo...

THanks to all for the info..any other thoughts are also welcome.

Comment

Im still surprised there makin mobo's with agp slots..=/
            oh well good luck

Comment

I believe the min power requirement for it is 350 Watts, you should be good with 500 All other specs, good.

Comment