O.K. I have gotten that crash to desktop a number of times. While playing one night I finished a round and the server changed maps so I opted out and "UPDATED MY SERVER LIST"
Whenever I start my BF2, after login I take the server list and select to arrange list by "MISSIONS" This lists each map with any and all of the same type,(i.e. 16, 32, 64 players unless the map size is filtered) It also puts them alphabetically, (All the 'sharqi penninsula' maps are followed by 'strike at karkand' etc.)
AnYwAy, when my list finished updating, it produces the availible servers, they are listed BY MAP/MISSION alphabetically, only the "PING" indicator is lit/highlighted (lists servers from lowest to highest or highest to lowest ping count) So instinctivly I re-click to list by mission.
Well I have found that IF I DON'T re-click on the "list by" MISSION /MAP button every time I update the servers, I usually get shuffled back to desktop, which happens as soon as I click on "JOIN GAME"
To sum it up:
1) The bug I am seeing is that the server listing preference is defaulting back to "PING" each time I update my server list, but the list is still arranged by "MISSION/MAP" and alphabetically.
2) If I forget to re-click the 'list by map' etc., after I choose a server, when I click "Join Game" I crash to desktop.
I am not sure how the two could be related or if they are, but it might be something to watch... FYIJLY
Whenever I start my BF2, after login I take the server list and select to arrange list by "MISSIONS" This lists each map with any and all of the same type,(i.e. 16, 32, 64 players unless the map size is filtered) It also puts them alphabetically, (All the 'sharqi penninsula' maps are followed by 'strike at karkand' etc.)
AnYwAy, when my list finished updating, it produces the availible servers, they are listed BY MAP/MISSION alphabetically, only the "PING" indicator is lit/highlighted (lists servers from lowest to highest or highest to lowest ping count) So instinctivly I re-click to list by mission.
Well I have found that IF I DON'T re-click on the "list by" MISSION /MAP button every time I update the servers, I usually get shuffled back to desktop, which happens as soon as I click on "JOIN GAME"
To sum it up:
1) The bug I am seeing is that the server listing preference is defaulting back to "PING" each time I update my server list, but the list is still arranged by "MISSION/MAP" and alphabetically.
2) If I forget to re-click the 'list by map' etc., after I choose a server, when I click "Join Game" I crash to desktop.
I am not sure how the two could be related or if they are, but it might be something to watch... FYIJLY
Comment