Network question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Network question

I'm a bit of a noob at networking. I wish to know what the difference is between a hub / router/ switch? whats best for a simple network?

Re: Network question

a hub connects alot of pc's together so they can share printers ETC. To gain access with this you have to have a pc on to access the net.

A router is a hub and modem built in but gives access to the net aswell.

a Router is probaly the best way to go for a simple network. As it enables internet and sharing with lots of pcs and is very simple to use.

Comment

sweet i see. already have a cable modem, so a hub would be the way? can u get a hub with ethernet connections?

Comment

A router would be thing to use, and most routers do NOT have a built in modem. I personally have not seen any that do.

Comment

well the netgear DG834GT does as i use it :P

Comment

Hub: A multi-port "jack" for Networks without any Intelligence. Can regenerate a bad signal (from a long cable). Much like a Multi-jack Power cord.
            Its a Layer 1 device and does not need any Configuration

Switch: A multi-port "jack" for Networks with the ability to filter/analyse/compute MAC addresses. Can split the the Network Traffic to reduce Collisions which increases Network Performance.
            Its a Layer 2 device that might need some Configuration such as MAC Address filters.

Router: A Device to connect 2 different Networks that are separated by IP addresses. Can filter/analyse/compute MAC and IP Addresses. Routers have a so-called Address-Table which tell em what IPs are connected with it and what IPs are connected with other routers, what to do with a IP Packet and "in which direction" it should go. Router can communicate with with others Routers to share the Address-Table. May come with a build-in Firewall, Modem and Swtich.